Brothers Osborne are set to release their sophomore album in April. The boys says it's an amalgamation of their career so far.

Port Saint Joe is a sonic representation of who we’ve become not only as a band but as people,”John Osborne says in a press release. “Every show we’ve ever played together is on this record. Every song we’ve ever written and every mile we’ve ever ridden has led to the making of this record. Imperfections and all.”

The new album follows the real-life brothers' debut project, Pawn Shopreleased in 2016. Read on to learn more about the new disc.

The Title

Port Saint Joe is the title of Brothers Osborne's upcoming album. The disc takes its name from the coastal Florida town in which they recorded the project.

"We shacked up for two weeks to make an unabashed record that would reflect who we are in every way," says TJ Osborne in a press release, "and in the process, we had the most enjoyable and memorable recording experience of our lives.”

The Release Date

Port Saint Joe is set for release on April 20.

The Album Cover

Port Saint Joe's album cover features TJ and John Osborne standing on a beach at sunset; their figures are silhouetted against the skyline and water.

The Record Label

Port Saint Joe will be released on the Universal Music Group Nashville label. It's the label with with Brothers Osborne signed before releasing their debut disc.

The Producer

Port Saint Joe was produced by the legendary Jay Joyce, who also owns the beach house where Brothers Osborne recorded the project.

The Single

"Shoot Me Straight" is the rollicking first single off Port Saint Joe; it captures the brothers' gritty rock style and includes a three-minute guitar solo. The song focuses on a breakup.

"Make it burn the whole way down / Lay my six-foot four-inch a-- out on the ground," TJ Osborne sings with a little bit of begging for mercy and a lot of cocky swagger. "Yeah, tomorrow I'll have a hard hangover and one hell of a heartache / So pour it on like a shot of whiskey / And shoot me straight." 

The Songs

All 10 songs on Port Saint Joe were written or co-written by the John and TJ Osborne; their co-writers include Lee Thomas Miller, Kendall Marvel, Barry Dean, Shane McAnally and Troy Verges.

Ranging from a traditional country waltz (“Tequila Again”) to Muscle Shoals-inspired soul grooves (“A Little Bit Trouble"), the songs on Port Saint Joe take on the broad personality of the duo and play out like a live album, with imperfections and little editing.

“A lot of the takes you hear were live takes,” John Osborne tells AP News. “We’re not going in and overdubbing anything.”

While a rock-inspired tinge comes through on many of the songs on Port Saint Joe, Brothers Osborne say they hearken back to their country roots more often than not.

“I am not saying we’re a throwback country band by any stretch, but we are still keeping in tradition,” Osborne adds. “It’s easy to let yourself veer away from that because, monetarily, it might make more sense to try do something that is more pop or more mainstream. We’re just adhering to what we do naturally and what we think is authentic.”

Brothers Osborne, Port Saint Joe Track Listing: 

1. "Slow Your Roll" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Barry Dean, Troy Verges)
2. "Shoot Me Straight" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Lee Thomas Miller)
3. "I Don’t Remember Me (Before You)" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Shane McAnally, Matt Dragstrem)
4. "Weed, Whiskey and Willie" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Laura Veltz)
5. "Tequila Again" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Kendall Marvel)
6. "A Couple Wrongs Makin’ It Alright" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Connie Harrington)
7. "Pushing Up Daisies" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Kendall Marvel)
8. "Drank Like Hank" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Kendall Marvel)
9. "A Little Bit Trouble" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Dave Barnes)
10. "While You Still Can" (John Osborne, TJ Osborne, Travis Meadows)

The Tour

Brothers Osborne will join up with Dierks Bentley for Bentley's 2018 Mountain High Tour. The trek is scheduled to kick off May 17. Tickets and additional information can be found on Brothers Osborne's website.

Country Music's Best Guitarists

More From US 103-3